Hi! I've received a half-scan attack from this ip: 11.6.83.115.
www.dnsstuff.com shows it being Japan-based.

According to this site, I should block it on my server that they actually
scanned for open ports. Should I do anything else? Is there an
organization, like NIST, that tries to catch Internet abusers?

Here's the link:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/treeview/default.asp?url=/technet/prodtechnol/isa/proddocs/isadocs/CMT_IntrusionIntro.asp

Any thoughts or advice will be greatly appreciated.

Marcia

Re: half-scan attack by Marcia

Marcia
Wed Feb 25 19:19:01 CST 2004

oops, it was 211.6.83.115 (I didn't copy the 2)


"Marcia Porter" <mporter@martechgroup.net> wrote in message
news:%239GOJVA$DHA.792@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
> Hi! I've received a half-scan attack from this ip: 11.6.83.115.
> www.dnsstuff.com shows it being Japan-based.
>
> According to this site, I should block it on my server that they actually
> scanned for open ports. Should I do anything else? Is there an
> organization, like NIST, that tries to catch Internet abusers?
>
> Here's the link:
>
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/treeview/default.asp?url=/technet/prodtechnol/isa/proddocs/isadocs/CMT_IntrusionIntro.asp
>
> Any thoughts or advice will be greatly appreciated.
>
> Marcia
>
>