leighl60
Wed Mar 16 03:07:48 CST 2005
Hi, Marina
The NDR is:
"Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients.
Subject: RE: the returned message
Sent: 11/03/2005 10:19
The following recipient(s) could not be reached:
'xxxx' on 11/03/2005 10:20
There was a SMTP communication problem with the
recipient's email server. Please contact your system administrator.
<localserver.Mydomain.local #5.5.0 smtp;550-REJECTED: The
domain you have referred to is blocked due to SPAM. Please>"
'xxxx' is this user's email address, to which we can't send.
Regards
Leigh
"Marina Roos [SBS-MVP]" <marina@roos.nodontwantspam.nl.com> wrote in message news:<#qD1A4WKFHA.568@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl>...
> Hi Leigh,
>
> As stated before, you should have more information in that NDR which you
> didn't post yet.
>
> --
> Regards,
>
> Marina
> Microsoft SBS-MVP
> One of the Magical M&M's
>
> "Leigh" <leighl60@aol.com> schreef in bericht
> news:43bd07e6.0503150641.1845ef8e@posting.google.com...
> > Many thanks Marina and Merv for your replies.
> >
> > Having checked the recommended website
> > (
http://www.sbslinks.com/DNS_Smarthost.htm), I realised that we are in
> > deed using Smarthost to send all of our emails. i.e. everything are
> > sent to relay.plus.net. Also we have a static IP address.
> >
> > Checking our IP address at
http://www.dnsstuff.com I can get the PTR=
> > XXX.plus.com. plus.com is our ISP's mailserver although it has no
> > relation to our domain name.
> >
> > It would be very much appreciated if you could suggest what could have
> > caused this error? I'm really confused: we can send emails to everyone
> > except this user (we can receive emails from him) and this user can
> > receive emails from all other contacts except from us!
> >
> > Leigh
> >
> > "Merv Porter [SBS-MVP]" <mwport@no_spam_hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:<utqBKFJKFHA.2880@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl>...
> > > As Marina said, try creating a smartthost for the problematic domain.
> The
> > > recipient's mail server may be doing a reverse DNS lookup to prove that
> the
> > > mail is coming from a legitimate source when it receives mail from you.
> If
> > > you have a dynamic IP address from your ISP, the reverse DNS lookup may
> fail
> > > because you don't have a permanent (static) IP address, and associated
> "MX"
> > > and "A" records, for your Exchange server. So, the recipient's mail
> server
> > > cannot check your authenticity and rejects your mail.
> > >
> > > If you create a smarthost, you'll be sending (relaying) mail to your
> ISP's
> > > SMTP server. Then your ISP will send it on to it's final destination.
> If
> > > your recipient's mail server does a reverse DNS lookup, it will be told
> the
> > > IP address of one of your ISP's SMTP servers - the mail will appear to h
> ave
> > > come from your ISP, not your server. Since your ISP has all the proper
> MX
> > > and A records for sending and receiving mail, the recipient's mail
> server
> > > should be satisfied and the mail will be delivered to the recipient.
> > >
> > > You may need to get back to your ISP and see what server he uses for
> > > smarthost authentication.
> > >
> > > DNS vs. Smarthost
> > >
http://www.sbslinks.com/DNS_Smarthost.htm
> > >
> > > --
> > > Merv Porter [SBS MVP]
> > > ===================================
> > > "Leigh" <leighl60@aol.com> wrote in message
> > > news:43bd07e6.0503140317.4016a45b@posting.google.com...
> > > > Thanks for the help.
> > > >
> > > > I've rang my ISP but was advised to contact the recipient's ISP, which
> > > > we have asked this user to do. The feedback we have is that their ISP
> > > > has not blocked our domain. I'm really confused now.
> > > >
> > > > Marina, could you please point me to some online references of
> > > > "creating a separate SMTP connector"?
> > > >
> > > > Many thanks.
> > > >
> > > > Leigh
> > > >
> > > > "Marina Roos [SBS-MVP]" <marina@roos.nodontwantspam.nl.com> wrote in
> > > message news:<eczr8q#JFHA.3336@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl>...
> > > > > Hi Leigh,
> > > > >
> > > > > It probably has some more information and a reference to the site
> where
> > > the
> > > > > blacklist is.
> > > > > For this domain you can create a separate SMTP connector and let
> that go
> > > > > through your smarthost (the mailserver of your ISP).
> > > > >
> > > > > --
> > > > > Regards,
> > > > >
> > > > > Marina
> > > > > Microsoft SBS-MVP
> > > > > One of the Magical M&M's
> > > > >
> > > > > "Leigh" <leighl60@aol.com> schreef in bericht
> > > > > news:43bd07e6.0503110626.70d331df@posting.google.com...
> > > > > > Hi, all
> > > > > >
> > > > > > We have a SBS2000 in a box. We receive emails using POP3 and send
> > > > > > emails using SPTM via our ISP. We have no problems sending most
> emails
> > > > > > but just can't send emails to a single user. The following is the
> > > > > > error message:
> > > > > >
> > > > > > "Your message did not reach some or all of the intended
> recipients.
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Subject: RE: the returned message
> > > > > > Sent: 11/03/2005 10:19
> > > > > >
> > > > > > The following recipient(s) could not be reached:
> > > > > >
> > > > > > 'xxxx' on 11/03/2005 10:20
> > > > > > There was a SMTP communication problem with the
> > > > > > recipient's email server. Please contact your system
> administrator.
> > > > > > <localserver.Mydomain.local #5.5.0 smtp;550-REJECTED:
> The
> > > > > > domain you have referred to is blocked due to SPAM. Please>"
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Any suggestions as to which domain has been blocked and by whom?
> (my
> > > > > > domain or our ISP's or the recipient's).
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Many thanks.
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Leigh