Kathy
Thu Sep 29 08:07:08 CDT 2005
BTW Connecting to 64.115.124.115 on port 25 gets sai.sa-intl.org in the
greeting. But sai.sa-intl.org resolves to 204.9.42.20, so ignore what I
said about names etc - you may just need to change the fqdn of the virtual
smtp server to mail.sa-intl.org .
Sorry
"Kathy" <vbtskje@nospam.postalias> wrote in message
news:e5SahjMxFHA.3000@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> So, are you receiving all mail now?
>
> You don't seem to have a host (A) record for mail.sa-intl.org or for
> sai.sa-intl.org.
>
> So you need to set up an A record for sai.sa-intl.org 64.115.124.115 (the
> external address of the router)
>
> An mx record sai.sa-intl.org priority 10 and a backup MX record if you
have
> an arrangement with someone to act as a secondary mail server. You may
also
> need a cname of mail for sai.sa-intl.org (I'm assuming it still announces
> itself as sai.sa-intl.org as DNS report suggests). Otherwise substitute
mail
> for sai throughout. You could also ask about an SPF record,which allows
you
> to specify what hosts are allowed to send mail for your domain.
>
> A 5.5.0 error suggests a missing PTR record - reverse lookup address - for
> the external ip of the router (64.115.124.115) - ie sai-sa-intl.org does
not
> resolve to 64.115.124.115 and vice versa. That would affect others
receiving
> mail from you if you send using DNS, not incoming mail to you. The reverse
> lookup zone is probably controlled by your ISP not register.com.
>
> Also make sure that the SMTP Virtual server has sa-intl.org as its domain
> name not sa-intl.local.
>
> Sender verification failure also happens when the receiving server refuses
> messages with a blank sender as that is against the RFC. So if you are
> refusing these as an anti-spam measure, you'll have problems.
>
> Sorry, I'm not an SMTP expert.
>
> HTH
>
> Kathy
>
> You need to make sure that port 25 on the router is forwarded to the SBS
> server
> "Applebaum" <mappleNOSPAM@inch.com> wrote in message
> news:usPjc7ExFHA.2848@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> > That's what register.com told me, but when I did that, we stopped
> receiving
> > mail. So they were right? If that's the way it's supposed to be
> configured,
> > then I wonder why it didn't work for us until we went back to the MX
> record
> > being the IP address? How to troubleshoot it when it's not working?
> >
> >
> > "Kathy" <vbtskje@nospam.postalias> wrote in message
> > news:O04D0V$wFHA.3860@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> > > An MX record should be a host name, not an IP address. There should
be
> an
> > A
> > > record for that hostname , so they are basically correct.
64.115.124.115
> > is
> > > mail.sa-intl.org, (although it says sai.sa-intl.org in the greeting)
so
> > > that is the hostname you should use, so that the reverse lookup also
> works
> > > correctly. Priority should be a number, I think, eg 10 for the
> primary
> > > and 20 for the secondary.
> > >
> > > Have a look at what DNS report says about your MX records
> > >
http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=sa-intl.org
> > >
> > > Kathy
> > >
> > > "Applebaum" <mappleNOSPAM@inchNOSPAM.com> wrote in message
> > > news:uExFBa6wFHA.2348@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> > > > Hi,
> > > >
> > > > We recently switched our DNS services to Register.com. At first, I
> > copied
> > > > the way our settings had been before. For Mx records, I put in:
> > > >
> > > > Host Name Priority Mail Server
> > > >
> > > > sa-intl.org High 64.115.124.115
> > > > it.sa-intl.org High mail.centroitalia.coop.org
> > > >
> > > > After I set this up, it worked just fine, or so I thought.
> > > >
> > > > Then I checked with Register.com's tech support to verify that I had
> set
> > > up
> > > > the subdomain's (it.) Mx record properly. They said that I had, but
> > they
> > > > insisted that for our main record, it should say mail.sa-intl.org,
and
> > NOT
> > > > our mail server's IP address, and we should have an A record
pointing
> > > > mail.sa-intl.org to our mail server's IP address.
> > > >
> > > > I followed their advice, and we stopped receiving external email.
So
> I
> > > > switched the Mx record back to our IP address, and we received
> external
> > > > email again.
> > > >
> > > > But I'm getting reports that people from some domains are unable to
> > email
> > > > us. They're getting NDRs like:
> > > >
> > > > <SAI.sa-intl.org #5.5.0 smtp;550-Verification failed for...
> > > >
> > > > And, when I go to DNSreport.com, we get:
> > > >
> > > > FAIL: MX is host name, not IP
> > > > ERROR: You have one or more MX record(s) that contain an IP
address.
> > This
> > > > is not valid. A fully RFC-compliant mailserver will not be able to
> send
> > > you
> > > > mail (although some mail servers will, due to the TCP/IP functions
> that
> > > they
> > > > use). The problem MX records are: 64.115.124.115.
> > > >
> > > > also I get:
> > > >
> > > > WARN: Multiple MX records
> > > > WARNING: You only have 1 MX record. If your primary mail server is
> down
> > or
> > > > unreachable, there is a chance that mail may have troubles reaching
> you.
> > > >
> > > > But when I followed followed Register.com's advice, we stopped
> receiving
> > > > emails. I don't want to mess around with it again without knowing
> > exactly
> > > > what to do.
> > > >
> > > > Many thanks in advance!!!
> > > >
> > > > Matthew
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>