William
Sun Feb 06 08:42:40 CST 2005
Based on a vid I saw, seems that they have turned on a bunch of spam stuff
recently that was too "expensive" to run before. Seems they need to shake
out a few issues. Send an email to the support to detail your issues.
--
William Stacey, MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
"Gunilla" <removekakaomumsathotmaildotcom> wrote in message
news:uDlw5YEDFHA.3908@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> I am experiencing the same thing but I have OE as my mail reader and
> suddenly the hotmail folders are gone and an e-mail from
> hotmail staff is in the hotmail inbox, as that one is the only left in OE,
> saying I need contact them. I have checked the source from the e-mail and
it
> seems to be a valid one. Anyhow, when I go to the web-interface of Hotmail
I
> am presented with the same "Match the pictures" window after typing my
> username and password and after that I get my folders back in OE.
>
> The annoying thing though is that it happens more than one time each week
> but I understand why they need to have this kind of security measurements.
> But agree that one can be very suspicious these days.
>
> Gunilla
>
> "Bigbruva" <Richardh@dontusethis.ws> skrev i meddelandet
> news:es7Qq0ADFHA.1260@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> > Okay first things first, this is NOT a virus
> >
> > This is from Hotmail, it is a techniques they use to stop spammers
> > creating hundreds of account in one go via some automated process.
> > I must admit I have not seen this used routinely for hotmail logins. I
> > tested my hotmail login via www.hotmail.com just now and I was not
> > presented with this check.
> >
> > Is your account new?
> >
> > Anyway you are right to question this change but as long as it does not
> > ask for personal details like your SS number or bank account details you
> > should be okay.
> > If you continue to be sent via this check you might try contacting the
> > Hotmail tech support and ask why you are having to do this
> >
> > HTH
> >
> > BB
> >
> >
> > "Tim" <Tim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> > news:CFF6CDC3-BA78-4C67-BD2B-56884AB6FB23@microsoft.com...
> >> Operating System: windows XP
> >> Connection Type: cable modem
> >> Browser Type: ie 6+
> >>
> >> Recently, when attempting to log onto hotmail via www.hotmail.com, I am
> >> now
> >> being asked to "Match the pictures". After entering my password, I am
> >> then
> >> redirected to another URL which prompts me to "Match a picutre" to
enter.
> >> Is
> >> this new to hotmail or a spoof? When I enter the characters, I do get
> >> into
> >> hotmail, but this has never been there before. I am worried that it is
a
> >> virus that is redirecting me. That URL is:
> >>
http://hipservice.passport.net/forcehip.srf?id=2&ru=http%3a%2f%2fwww%2ehotmail%2emsn%2ecom%2fcgi%2dbin%2fsbox&tk=5AAAAAAAAHaH5SlHCfh%21vCYuZRLHqLeSMISOD27ewz5qkus5hJBdv8%2a1WHq%2ar9afyJ6tXjAueHs4c%24&lc=1033
> >
> >
>