After installing SP2, I recently received a formatted
message in Outlook Express that included a link to the
sender's web site (www.feldmans.net). When I copy the
web site address into my browser, I have no trouble
reaching the web site and it appears to be a legitimate
business site. However if I try to click on the link
directly in the received email message, it goes nowhere,
and when I look at the HTML source for the message I see
that it has this---"blocked::http//www.feldmans.net"--so
that when I click the link nothing happens. Has anyone
seen anything like this or know what's going on here?

RE: blocked url on Outlook Express message by tfauss

tfauss
Fri Oct 08 15:57:59 CDT 2004

>After installing SP2, I recently received a formatted
>message in Outlook Express that included a link to the
>sender's web site (www.feldmans.net). When I copy the
>web site address into my browser, I have no trouble
>reaching the web site and it appears to be a legitimate
>business site. However if I try to click on the link
>directly in the received email message, it goes nowhere,
>and when I look at the HTML source for the message I see
>that it has this---"blocked::http//www.feldmans.net"--so
>that when I click the link nothing happens. Has anyone
>seen anything like this or know what's going on here?
>

Just as a thought; if you go into Tools/Options/Security in Outlook
Express, and change the radio button under "Select the Internet Explorer
zone to use:" from Restricted sites zone to Internet zone, does that change
your symptoms? IE uses the Internet zone by default, and only uses
restricted sites if they're explicitly added, but OE in Service Pack 2
defaults to the more secure (and less functional) Restricted sites. That
might explain what you're seeing.

Tony Fauss
PSS Security