I found two emails in my bulk mail inbox regarding my MSN account saying that
my credit card number had been turned down and I could resolve the problem by
contacting "MSN Suport" via the (spoof) link provided. I wanted to forward
the two spoof billing emails to MSN as there are probably people out there
who have received this and think it's legit, but does MSN care?

Re: Spoof Billing From MSN by N

N
Fri Nov 05 01:20:15 CST 2004

In article <1FCC5365-3DFB-4E75-B874-88D122966BFB@microsoft.com>, says...

> I found two emails in my bulk mail inbox regarding my MSN account saying that
> my credit card number had been turned down and I could resolve the problem by
> contacting "MSN Suport" via the (spoof) link provided. I wanted to forward
> the two spoof billing emails to MSN as there are probably people out there
> who have received this and think it's legit, but does MSN care?

They might, but I don't know of a contact address for that. It won't be
"abuse@"; that is normally to report abuse emanating from MSN. In the
meantime, while waiting for somebody who might know, you should report the
spam to the ISP of the sending host, and the ISP of the website host. They
should deal with their abusive customers (though they probably won't).

--
Norman
~Win dain a lotica, En vai tu ri, Si lo ta
~Fin dein a loluca, En dragu a sei lain
~Vi fa-ru les shutai am, En riga-lint

Re: Spoof Billing From MSN by Lanwench

Lanwench
Fri Nov 05 08:02:48 CST 2004

John S. wrote:
> I found two emails in my bulk mail inbox regarding my MSN account
> saying that my credit card number had been turned down and I could
> resolve the problem by contacting "MSN Suport" via the (spoof) link
> provided. I wanted to forward the two spoof billing emails to MSN as
> there are probably people out there who have received this and think
> it's legit, but does MSN care?

Dollars to doughnuts it's just a phishing expedition - identity fraud. It
isn't from MSN. Check out the internet message headers, find the latest IP
address right before your server, find out whose it is at www.arin.net/whois
and try to contact their abuse department. Or just delete the messages.



Spoof Billing From MSN by clownz

clownz
Mon Nov 08 10:42:23 CST 2004

In the headers of the email you can find the actual IP of
the address that sent you the spoofed emails. Although it
could have been through a open proxy and done through an
open mail relay which is very difficult to trace..

However, even if the IP address was proxied you should
still take the IP address of the sender and look up who
owns the domain through http://www.all-
nettools.com/toolbox and send forward the copy to them
explaining you received a spoofed email and let them know
you're very concerned.

- clownz



>-----Original Message-----
>I found two emails in my bulk mail inbox regarding my MSN
account saying that
>my credit card number had been turned down and I could
resolve the problem by
>contacting "MSN Suport" via the (spoof) link provided. I
wanted to forward
>the two spoof billing emails to MSN as there are
probably people out there
>who have received this and think it's legit, but does MSN
care?
>.
>

RE: Spoof Billing From MSN by Merrick1432

Merrick1432
Mon Mar 07 08:57:02 CST 2005

Yes they care very much. I called them after I recieved one and they told me
to FORWARD entire email w/ headers to spoofemail@msn.com. They acknowledged
and confirmed their reciept of the spoof email.

"John S." wrote:

> I found two emails in my bulk mail inbox regarding my MSN account saying that
> my credit card number had been turned down and I could resolve the problem by
> contacting "MSN Suport" via the (spoof) link provided. I wanted to forward
> the two spoof billing emails to MSN as there are probably people out there
> who have received this and think it's legit, but does MSN care?

Re: Spoof Billing From MSN by Vanguard

Vanguard
Mon Mar 07 09:31:13 CST 2005

"Merrick1432" <Merrick1432@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:C5F901C2-9E7E-4F21-8EFA-DAB21C444311@microsoft.com...
> Yes they care very much. I called them after I recieved one and they
> told me
> to FORWARD entire email w/ headers to spoofemail@msn.com. They
> acknowledged
> and confirmed their reciept of the spoof email.
>
> "John S." wrote:
>
>> I found two emails in my bulk mail inbox regarding my MSN account
>> saying that
>> my credit card number had been turned down and I could resolve the
>> problem by
>> contacting "MSN Suport" via the (spoof) link provided. I wanted to
>> forward
>> the two spoof billing emails to MSN as there are probably people out
>> there
>> who have received this and think it's legit, but does MSN care?


You can also send a full copy of the phish mail to the e-mail address
listed at http://www.antiphishing.org. This is a relatively new site
sponsored by Microsoft, eBay, Visa, GeoTrust, and several other major
companies. They also provide an archive list of old phish mails but I
suspect it is not a complete list but just the biggies where some
minimum threshold of users have reported it. This helps create the
phish site blacklist that anti-phishing products can use, like Webroot's
Phish Net, GeoTrust's Trustwatch toolbar, and Fraudeliminator.

--
____________________________________________________________
Post your replies to the newsgroup. Share with others.
E-mail reply: Remove "NIXTHIS" and add "#VS811" to Subject.
____________________________________________________________


Re: Spoof Billing From MSN by Malke

Malke
Mon Mar 07 10:24:32 CST 2005

Vanguard wrote:

> "Merrick1432" <Merrick1432@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:C5F901C2-9E7E-4F21-8EFA-DAB21C444311@microsoft.com...
>> Yes they care very much. I called them after I recieved one and they
>> told me
>> to FORWARD entire email w/ headers to spoofemail@msn.com. They
>> acknowledged
>> and confirmed their reciept of the spoof email.
>>
>> "John S." wrote:
>>
>>> I found two emails in my bulk mail inbox regarding my MSN account
>>> saying that
>>> my credit card number had been turned down and I could resolve the
>>> problem by
>>> contacting "MSN Suport" via the (spoof) link provided. I wanted to
>>> forward
>>> the two spoof billing emails to MSN as there are probably people
>>> out there
>>> who have received this and think it's legit, but does MSN care?
>
>
> You can also send a full copy of the phish mail to the e-mail address
> listed at http://www.antiphishing.org. This is a relatively new site
> sponsored by Microsoft, eBay, Visa, GeoTrust, and several other major
> companies. They also provide an archive list of old phish mails but I
> suspect it is not a complete list but just the biggies where some
> minimum threshold of users have reported it. This helps create the
> phish site blacklist that anti-phishing products can use, like
> Webroot's Phish Net, GeoTrust's Trustwatch toolbar, and
> Fraudeliminator.
>

That's a very good site. Thanks for finding it and posting the url.

Malke
--
MS MVP - Windows Shell/User
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"