Mike
Thu Feb 12 14:24:01 CST 2004
Tedd,
Yeah I'm enjoying the program ......
I hope they enjoy my HOSTS file!
# [PSD Tools][Adware-BuddyLinks]
127.0.0.1 download.buddylinks.net #[ShellInstaller Control]
127.0.0.1 www.buddylinks.net
127.0.0.1 www.wgutv.com
--
For SpywareBlaster users: (add via "Custom Blocking")
Title: Adware-BuddyLinks
CLSID: {FDDCE9FF-1FC6-413c-80B1-37B101FDA1D4}
____________________________________________________________
Mike Burgess [MVP Windows Shell\User]
http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/
Blocking Spyware, Adware, Parasites, Hijackers, Trojans, with a HOSTS file
http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm [updated 02-07-04]
Please post replies to this Newsgroup, email address is invalid
--
"Tedd Riggs" <T_Riggs@MSN,C0M> wrote in message
news:ONKlA6W8DHA.1596@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> I was a little surprised by the answer that I got from Drew asking if they
> know of this or support it, Looks like they do. Copy of email back from
> Drew.
>
> --
> Tedd Riggs
> PDA Square Content Developer
> www.pdasquare.com
> Redmond, WA
>
> Hello,
> We hope you are enjoying your BuddyLinks program.
> If you would like to uninstall BuddyLinks, we offer
> two
> easy methods to do this:
>
> -Via "Add/Remove Programs":
>
> Click "Start", Settings, Control Panel
> Click "Add/Remove Programs"
> Locate the "buddylinks.net Messaging Integration"
> option and click "Remove".
> Click "Yes" on the prompt.
>
> -Via a website link:
> Navigate to
http://www.buddylinks.net/uninstaller.exe
> or
http://www.buddylinks.net/uninstall.exe
>
> Choose "Run" or "Open" when the download window
> appears.
>
> We hope this helps answer your questions about
> BuddyLinks. Our support staff will be happy to help
> you
> with any additional uninstall issues via email at
> extrasupport@buddylinks.net .
>
>
> "anonymous coward" <newanonymous2000@yahoo.com> wrote in message
> news:4c0dadde.0402111729.31ed5e3d@posting.google.com...
> > Here's the whois info on the website:
> >
> > wgutv
> > Drew Williams
> > 1770 Mass. Ave # 213
> > Cambridge, MA 02140
> > US
> > Phone: 6176614664
> > Email: support@wgutv.com
> >
> >
> > "Scott Francis" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:<de8901c3f0b2$6ce640e0$a101280a@phx.gbl>...
> > > I received the following IM from my brother in law:
> > >
> > > check this out...
http://www.wgutv.com/osama_capture.php?
> > > xi01
> > >
> > > When I clicked on the link I was taken to a "WGUC TV NEWS
> > > PLAYER WAR GAMES UPDATE" page. I was prompted to install
> > > a "News Player" ActiveX control.
> > >
> > > I refused to install the control and asked my brother-in-
> > > law what he'd sent. He said he hadn't sent me anything.
> > >
> > > This seems fishy to me. Is there any knowledge about this
> > > (a Google search returned nothing)? To whom should I
> > > report this?
> > >
> > > Thanks,
> > >
> > > Scott Francis
>
>