a notice keeps coming up on our computer that is
microsoftatch.info. Do I need this? When I try to get it
it will not come up.

Re: Microsoftpatch by Jupiter

Jupiter
Wed Feb 11 17:17:55 CST 2004

Erwin;
That sounds like a site not affiliated with Microsoft that attempts to
sell you what Microsoft will give for free:
http://www3.telus.net/dandemar/paypat.htm

--
Jupiter Jones [MVP]
An easier way to read newsgroup messages:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/pro/using/newsgroups/setup.asp
http://www3.telus.net/dandemar/


"Erwin A. Evans" <eaelevans@juno.com> wrote in message
news:e22d01c3f0df$e53ded40$a101280a@phx.gbl...
> a notice keeps coming up on our computer that is
> microsoftatch.info. Do I need this? When I try to get it
> it will not come up.



Re: Microsoftpatch by infosys

infosys
Wed Feb 11 19:51:55 CST 2004

Hi,
Should this type of intrusion be reported to Microsoft?
My sister received the same type of message for a 'windows-
patch.info'. It looks like the site is hocking products
for a 'securesoft.org' using masked links. Is there
anything I can do other than tell her not to touch it?

Mike

>-----Original Message-----
>Erwin;
>That sounds like a site not affiliated with Microsoft
that attempts to
>sell you what Microsoft will give for free:
>http://www3.telus.net/dandemar/paypat.htm
>
>--
>Jupiter Jones [MVP]
>An easier way to read newsgroup messages:
>http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/pro/using/newsgroups/se
tup.asp
>http://www3.telus.net/dandemar/
>
>
>"Erwin A. Evans" <eaelevans@juno.com> wrote in message
>news:e22d01c3f0df$e53ded40$a101280a@phx.gbl...
>> a notice keeps coming up on our computer that is
>> microsoftatch.info. Do I need this? When I try to get it
>> it will not come up.
>
>
>.
>

Re: Microsoftpatch by Lanwench

Lanwench
Wed Feb 11 20:52:11 CST 2004

Microsoft is probably aware of the problem.

Get a firewall configured to stop messenger spam (block all inbound ports),
and get an IE popup blocker (such as http://toolbar.google.com )

infosys wrote:
> Hi,
> Should this type of intrusion be reported to Microsoft?
> My sister received the same type of message for a 'windows-
> patch.info'. It looks like the site is hocking products
> for a 'securesoft.org' using masked links. Is there
> anything I can do other than tell her not to touch it?
>
> Mike
>
>> -----Original Message-----
>> Erwin;
>> That sounds like a site not affiliated with Microsoft
> that attempts to
>> sell you what Microsoft will give for free:
>> http://www3.telus.net/dandemar/paypat.htm
>>
>> --
>> Jupiter Jones [MVP]
>> An easier way to read newsgroup messages:
>> http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/pro/using/newsgroups/se tup.asp
>> http://www3.telus.net/dandemar/
>>
>>
>> "Erwin A. Evans" <eaelevans@juno.com> wrote in message
>> news:e22d01c3f0df$e53ded40$a101280a@phx.gbl...
>>> a notice keeps coming up on our computer that is
>>> microsoftatch.info. Do I need this? When I try to get it
>>> it will not come up.
>>
>>
>> .



Microsoftpatch by Unggit

Unggit
Fri Feb 13 15:34:32 CST 2004


>-----Original Message-----
>a notice keeps coming up on our computer that is
>microsoftatch.info. Do I need this? When I try to get it
>it will not come up.
>

Please read all messages posted by me, Tedd R., Lanwench,
Jason and Danny Slye (Microsoft MCSE himself).
It is most likely a bogus one. It is (was)also disguised
as: windows-patch.info and windowspatch.com. Be careful!