I got an email from fourie1500@indiatimes.com, its an
obvious scam to try to steal my identity. Here is a little
excerpt:

"I want to present you as the owner of the funds so you
can be able to claim them with
the help of my attorney. This is simple.I will like you to
provide immediately your full names and address so that
the Attorney will prepare the
necessary documents which will put you in place as the
beneficiary of the funds."

Who can I report this to so that they can bust these guys?

I did a who is search on the domain name and it came back
with this:

Registrant:
Bennett Coleman & Co Ltd (INDIATIMES-DOM)
Times House, 7 Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg
New Delhi, Delhi 110002
IN

Domain Name: INDIATIMES.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Gulati, Raman (20797214I) raman.gulati@TIMESGROUP.COM
Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd.
Times House, 7 Bahadurshah Zafar Marg
Delhi
110002
New Delhi, New Delhi 110002
IN
91-11-23492134 fax: 91-11-23492077

Re: Email Scam by Lanwench

Lanwench
Fri Feb 27 09:02:11 CST 2004

This is another variant of the Nigerian Scam....and it's not out to steal
your identity, it's out to empty your bank account. See
http://www.snopes.com/inboxer/scams/nigeria.htm for info.

Don't rely on the reply/from address in the message as being the source. You
can check the Internet headers of the message to find out where the message
*really* came from, then try to identify the owner of the IP netblock
(www.arin.net/whois) and see if they have an abuse e-mail address listed.
This may or may not yield results....


Shane wrote:
> I got an email from fourie1500@indiatimes.com, its an
> obvious scam to try to steal my identity. Here is a little
> excerpt:
>
> "I want to present you as the owner of the funds so you
> can be able to claim them with
> the help of my attorney. This is simple.I will like you to
> provide immediately your full names and address so that
> the Attorney will prepare the
> necessary documents which will put you in place as the
> beneficiary of the funds."
>
> Who can I report this to so that they can bust these guys?
>
> I did a who is search on the domain name and it came back
> with this:
>
> Registrant:
> Bennett Coleman & Co Ltd (INDIATIMES-DOM)
> Times House, 7 Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg
> New Delhi, Delhi 110002
> IN
>
> Domain Name: INDIATIMES.COM
>
> Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
> Gulati, Raman (20797214I) raman.gulati@TIMESGROUP.COM
> Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd.
> Times House, 7 Bahadurshah Zafar Marg
> Delhi
> 110002
> New Delhi, New Delhi 110002
> IN
> 91-11-23492134 fax: 91-11-23492077