There is a new scam out there now. Be very careful when your bank emails you
purporting to be you bank's security office and asking you to verify
information regarding your account. They look very real but you are playing
into their hands by responding in any way. No bank will ask you for your
private information in response to their request.

You can call your bank at the number shown on your statement if you want to
check. Don't do anything on line in response to their request.

--
Regards,
Werner
quincey.nyc@nospam.verizon.net
Remove "Nospam" when e-mailing


---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.718 / Virus Database: 474 - Release Date: 7/9/2004

Re: Bank Frauds by geopsychic

geopsychic
Tue Jul 13 21:03:34 CDT 2004

Bullwinkel J. Moose wrote:

> There is a new scam out there now. Be very careful when your bank emails you
> purporting to be you bank's security office and asking you to verify
> information regarding your account. They look very real but you are playing
> into their hands by responding in any way. No bank will ask you for your
> private information in response to their request.
>
> You can call your bank at the number shown on your statement if you want to
> check. Don't do anything on line in response to their request.
>
I get several such phishing scams a week for PayPal and banks I don't
have accounts with. Display the full content of the email to get the IP
address of the link they give you and forward the message to
abuse@<bank>.com or spoof@paypal.com as appropriate. You might also
include the ISP routed through if you can figure it out.

Re: Bank Frauds by Dave

Dave
Wed Jul 14 05:49:16 CDT 2004

does spoof@paypal.com get read?? i have tried abuse@paypal.com and just get
a canned response that says to go login and contact them with their web form
or some such thing.

"geopsychic" <dmnospamdunbar@houston.rr.com> wrote in message
news:Wv0Jc.29001$857.20535@fe2.texas.rr.com...
> Bullwinkel J. Moose wrote:
>
> > There is a new scam out there now. Be very careful when your bank emails
you
> > purporting to be you bank's security office and asking you to verify
> > information regarding your account. They look very real but you are
playing
> > into their hands by responding in any way. No bank will ask you for your
> > private information in response to their request.
> >
> > You can call your bank at the number shown on your statement if you want
to
> > check. Don't do anything on line in response to their request.
> >
> I get several such phishing scams a week for PayPal and banks I don't
> have accounts with. Display the full content of the email to get the IP
> address of the link they give you and forward the message to
> abuse@<bank>.com or spoof@paypal.com as appropriate. You might also
> include the ISP routed through if you can figure it out.



Re: Bank Frauds by Robin

Robin
Wed Jul 14 10:16:20 CDT 2004

"Bullwinkel J. Moose" <quincey.nyc@verizon.net> wrote in
news:l90Jc.40282$Xb4.4337@nwrdny02.gnilink.net:

> There is a new scam out there now. Be very careful when your bank
> emails you purporting to be you bank's security office and asking you
> to verify information regarding your account. They look very real but
> you are playing into their hands by responding in any way. No bank
> will ask you for your private information in response to their
> request.
>
> You can call your bank at the number shown on your statement if you
> want to check. Don't do anything on line in response to their request.
>

To be surer about what site you are visiting, use SpoofStick:
http://www.corestreet.com/spoofstick/

Works with IE and Firefox.

Re: Bank Frauds by dak

dak
Wed Jul 14 16:23:15 CDT 2004

On Wed, 14 Jul 2004 15:16:20 GMT, Robin T Cox <nomail@nomail.com> wrote:

>To be surer about what site you are visiting, use SpoofStick:
>http://www.corestreet.com/spoofstick/
>
>Works with IE and Firefox.

SpoofStick for Internet Explorer currently requires Windows 2000 or Windows XP
to run.

--
dak

Bank Frauds by anonymous

anonymous
Wed Jul 14 19:13:57 CDT 2004

>-----Original Message-----
>There is a new scam out there now. Be very careful when
your bank emails you
>purporting to be you bank's security office and asking
you to verify
>information regarding your account.

This isn't a new scam. It's been around for more than a
year already!

Re: Bank Frauds by geopsychic

geopsychic
Wed Jul 14 21:24:20 CDT 2004

Dave wrote:
> does spoof@paypal.com get read?? i have tried abuse@paypal.com and just get
> a canned response that says to go login and contact them with their web form
> or some such thing.

Hard to say. That was the requested address to use that I got when I
tried abuse@payal.com the first time. I would think it would be in their
intrest to track these down.

Re: Bank Frauds by Bullwinkel

Bullwinkel
Thu Jul 15 01:05:56 CDT 2004

There's one for ebay making the rounds as well.
--
Regards,
Werner
quincey.nyc@nospam.verizon.net
Remove "Nospam" when e-mailing
"geopsychic" <dmnospamdunbar@houston.rr.com> wrote in message
news:Wv0Jc.29001$857.20535@fe2.texas.rr.com...
> Bullwinkel J. Moose wrote:
>
> > There is a new scam out there now. Be very careful when your bank emails
you
> > purporting to be you bank's security office and asking you to verify
> > information regarding your account. They look very real but you are
playing
> > into their hands by responding in any way. No bank will ask you for your
> > private information in response to their request.
> >
> > You can call your bank at the number shown on your statement if you want
to
> > check. Don't do anything on line in response to their request.
> >
> I get several such phishing scams a week for PayPal and banks I don't
> have accounts with. Display the full content of the email to get the IP
> address of the link they give you and forward the message to
> abuse@<bank>.com or spoof@paypal.com as appropriate. You might also
> include the ISP routed through if you can figure it out.



Re: Bank Frauds by jv009wc02

jv009wc02
Sun Jul 25 11:06:38 CDT 2004

"Bullwinkel J. Moose" <quincey.nyc@verizon.net> wrote in message news:<l90Jc.40282$Xb4.4337@nwrdny02.gnilink.net>...
> There is a new scam out there now. Be very careful when your bank emails you
> purporting to be you bank's security office and asking you to verify
> information regarding your account. They look very real but you are playing
> into their hands by responding in any way. No bank will ask you for your
> private information in response to their request.

I got two of them in my Spamcop email from someone claiming to
be from US Bank, wanting me to update my account information.
The website that does the actual phishing is not part of US
Bank, with the url beginning with 66.195.19.88, which is
part of Time Warner Telecom and is hosted by HostDime.com.

My Spamcop address I don't give out to anyone, but I
forgot to munge it out of a NANAS posting a while
back, so pretty much anything addressed to it alone
is guaranteed to be spam, having been harvested. That,
plus the fact that I don't even have a US Bank account,
meant that the 2 emails I received claiming to be from
them were phishing attempts.

This particular US Bank scam has been reported elsewhere,
and US Bank is aware of it. I was going to report it to
their fraud_help at usbank dot com address, until I saw
the Spamcop report, which mentioned that it had been
reported to that address as well as momentous.ca, the
ISP from which the phish was sent. By the time this post
makes it to the group, it is likely that both the phisher's
account and the phishing site will have been shut down.